Home > Health and Well-being, Uncategorized > My latest endeavor . . .

My latest endeavor . . .

I’ve committed to doing the Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) Program for the next eight weeks.  I first learned about MBSR during the Mindfulness For Children Workshop (see previous post) I took.  There are MBSR classes available where I live, but the next class doesn’t start until January and that’s when I start my life coach training.  Plus, I tend to want to do the next fabulous thing that appeals to me ten minutes ago. Luckily, there is a book which guides the reader through the entire MBSR course.  The Book is called Full Catastrophe Living by Jon Kabat-Zinn.  You can read all about MBSR here.

The course entails meditating for a minimum of 45 minutes a day, 6 days a week for the entire 8 weeks.  I do have a regular meditation practice ranging from 10-20 minutes a day and I’ve been on retreats where I’ve meditated most of the day for an entire weekend, but this is the first time I will meditate for 45 minutes daily consistently for 8 weeks.   The meditation taught in the course consists of a body scan technique, yoga and  both sitting and walking meditation.  I just started my first official day on the program, lucky for me my kids slept in this morning (!) so I was able to start my morning off with the 45 minute guided body scan that I found on the UCSD Center for Mindfulness website (there are other guided meditations on this page, too).  My plan is to wake at 6am every morning (unless someone’s bleeding, my girls know I’m out of commission until 7am)  and do the 45 minute practice then.  
   
How’d it go, you ask?  Well, I’ll tell ya!  It was cool.  You basically put your attention on each part of your body, as instructed, and note any sensations (or lack thereof) you feel in that part without judging it.  If your mind wanders, you’re to bring your focus back to the body part you abandoned to think about, say, School House Rock and how it’s too bad they don’t show that on tv anymore – that conjunction junction junction song was pretty catchy. . . .  I found this practice to be simple, not easy. 
   
I was lying on the floor with only an oriental area rug between my sacrum and tile as a cushion. That was uncomfy.  I’ll have to tweak that situation a bit for tomorrow. . . when I finished the practice, I noticed how heady I felt, my body felt both light and substantial at the same time.  It definitely put me in a good, clean space energetically – it’s hard to imagine being cranky after that, so I suspect this is going to be a fantastic way to start my day. It is mid afternoon now, and I have felt very patient, light and calm all day. I may be projecting here, but my kids seem calmer, too. Not only that, buy my eldest actually passed up watching her favorite tv show because she wanted to help me wipe the dining table clean and vacuum the play room first (WHAT?!!). Now is the part in my blog where a bird lights on my finger and I break out into a mellifluous melody, wearing a gown that’s excellent for twirling in . . . .  I’m definitely riding this train out to it’s final eight week destination!  
   
Now, according to the program, I  need to practice sitting meditation for ten minutes sometime before the day is over.  I’ll post my progress over the next 8 weeks.
   
  1. November 26, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Can’t wait. Followed you here from Martha’s – I’m on the team too.

  2. November 29, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Always nice to get acquainted with a teammate – thanks for making me aware you are out there 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

