Home > Uncategorized > Just fine!

Just fine!

I was listening to my ultra favorite song of the moment Just Fine by Mary J. Blige yesterday and resonating with every word she belted out. It’s a staple song on my “Feel Good” playlist – I listen to it when doing my resistance training. I often start dancing spontaneously during my workouts and this song ALWAYS makes me want to bust a move!

I had a fabulous week – here are just a few highlights . . .
– I’m on week 8 (the final week) of my self-directed MBSR program and the most valuable thing I have learned is that the benefits of investing the time and energy to practice meditation daily for 45 minutes  far outweigh the consequences of NOT investing that time and energy.  Everything is just so much better: I think more clearly, I’m far more patient, more focused, more present, more connected, I am not easily bothered or frustrated, I feel more compassionate and I’m just plain happier. I get all that for the price of 45 minutes of stillness a day, that’s a hell of a bargain.  I plan to continue this practice indefinitely with a baseline practice of 20 minutes of meditation a day, up to 45 minutes a day.
– I started my Martha Beck life coach certification training this week.  If I had any doubts before about becoming a life coach and helping people design the best life they can possibly imagine for themselves and then execute it (I didn’t) I now know for sure this is exactly what I need to be doing. I’m getting to know my classmates and, already, I am inspired and energized by them.  If you’ve never been around “your people” (people who share your energy, interests and even your life’s “calling”) I encourage you to drop everything and go seek them out and share some space with them, even if it’s virtual space!  It just feeds your soul.  Next week I have my first class with Martha Beck and I can’t adequately express how excited I am to be learning from one of the smartest and most insightful people in the field of personal development. I am really looking forward to that!
– Also, I finally stepped up and decided to help my eldest daughter (in kindergarten) with her homework.  As I may have shared in previous posts, I hate doing things FOR people, but love doing things that HELP people.  Until tonight I saw my daughter’s homework as work I did for my daughter (projects that required heavy parental involvement like making trips to the arts and crafts store, choosing and purchasing supplies and pulling images and/or info off the web, printing it, etc . . . btw, I really, really don’t like doing arts and crafts, so there is that factor, too). After being notified by my daughter’s teacher that she needs some major help with her writing skills, I decided it may be a good idea to give this homework thing another shot.  I was surprised to find myself getting into it,  I actually really enjoyed helping my girl learn how to write! As I watched her trace with focus and determination the numbers I outlined for her,  I understood: I wasn’t doing anything for her, I was helping her do something for herself, I was helping her with a skill she would use for the rest of her life, one of many essential skills she will learn that will allow her to pursue whatever dream she is called to follow.  That’s pretty important.  Now, I’m still cringing about the upcoming shoebox I must procure and decorate for the class valentine’s day party and the cards I need to purchase and address to each of her classmates . . . but maybe I can outline the names for her to trace and, because of this and continued help, next year she’ll be addressing cards to her first grade classmates confidently, all by herself.
Tomorrow we remember a great leader and teacher. I found a quote by Dr. King that speaks perfectly to the theme of why I found my week so satisfying.  I am all at once inspired, motivated and humbled by his words:
All labor that uplifts humanity has dignity and importance and should be undertaken with painstaking excellence.

I am constantly engaged in the work of uplifting and bettering myself, because I believe my Highest Calling is to serve a purpose that reaches far beyond myself by using whatever skills and talents I have been given and encouraged to develop.  I am so fortunate to have the love and support of family and friends (old and new) and access to teachers who want little more than to bring out the best in their students, so they can help others do the same and those others will go on to bring the best they have to offer to their life’s work (whether it’s finding a cure for a life threatening illness, creating works of art or raising happy healthy children – all worthwhile, important endeavors),  when one person does well, we all do well.  We are connected like that.  Plus, it feels really good to do what you love and to love what you do!
And on that note, here’s my girl Mary J. to sum up my thoughts and feelings as I wrap up this super great week:
Feels so good when you’re doing all the things that you want to do
Get the best out of life, treat yourself to something new
Keep your head up high
In yourself, believe in you, believe in me
Having a really good time I’m not complaining
and Ima still wear a smile if it’s raining
I gotta enjoy myself regardless
I appreciate life
I’m so glad that it’s mine

So I like what I see when I’m looking at me
When I’m walking past the mirror
Ain’t worried about you and what you’re gonna do
I’m a lady and so I must stay classy
Gotta keep it hot, keep it together if I want to get better
See I wouldn’t change my life, my life’s just fine, fine, fine, fine, fine . . .
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

