I Accept

Accepting does not necessarily mean ‘liking,’ ‘enjoying,’ or ‘condoning.’ I can accept what is—and be determined to evolve from there. It is not acceptance but denial that leaves me stuck.
~ Nathaniel Branden

Understanding is the first step to acceptance, and only with acceptance can there be recovery.
~ J.K. Rowling

What I really want to be doing right now is eating up some yards at the pool or practicing some crazy tricks on my pole.  Instead, I’m home in my jammies doing nothing.  I am nursing an injured back muscle that makes it painful to engage in my beloved physical activities.  It’s been over two weeks since I’ve moved in a way that satisfies me. Not only that, but I’m feeling really drained and tired.  

I’m in a really good place to mope and feel sorry for myself.  But that’s not really my style.  Nope, if I’m going to protest this injury thing, I’ll just get super busy and make my recovery a project.  So I line up my massage therapists, personal trainers, chiropractors, homeopaths and whoever else I think can help me figure out what went wrong and then fix me up.  They all tell me I need to rest and lay off my workouts – shocker, right? While forcefully kneading my body into a pulp,  my massage therapist offered this piece of advice : quit working so hard at recovering so you can actually recover.  That definitely hit home with me.
   
Resisting the situation at hand –that I’m injured, tired and in need of rest–  means I am fighting with reality and not only is that physically and emotionally draining, but it doesn’t yield desired results (I’m still injured, tired and in need of rest).  Forcing recovery by seeing every skilled professional in town and asking them to give me exercises, supplements and treatments to put a rush on the healing process is how I resist my current circumstance. I don’t have to like my condition in order to accept it; in fact, when I do accept it I am in a much better place to see the most effective plan of action I must take in order to move forward and achieve the results I ultimately want – to engage in the activities I love at my peak levels and to significantly reduce my risk of injury.   
  
So I am redirecting my energy to non-doing, I’m accepting my current condition and from there I can better know what steps I must take to make real recovery happen.   When I look at my situation from that place I see that I don’t actually want to swim or be on my pole right now.  What I truly want is to recover and, for now, that looks like me being at home in my jammies doing nothing.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

