Home > Relationships, Uncategorized > Tantrums Suck

Tantrums Suck

Assemble the pieces life throws at you ~ Virginia Woolf

 

Lately, my friends (and anyone who’ll listen, really)  have been hearing me complain about the tantrums of my 3 y.o.  And, let me tell you, she can throw-down!  The tantrums are unpleasant, no doubt, but I’m even more appalled at my own reaction to them.  I protest the tantrum, yell and get just as feisty and cantankerous as my daughter.  I tell you, if that method worked, I’d continue doing it.  But it doesn’t. 

I have actually asked aloud (no one in the room or anything) “Why Me?!!!”  This question is usually reserved for something far more distressing like being told you have a fatal illness or learning that Chanel just discontinued your favorite  beigy-pink lipstick  . . . When my child is in the throes of a tantrum, I think how much I really dislike my child at that moment, then I question my fitness as a parent, then I question my worth as a human being until I eventually come to a fork in my thought process: do I continue thinking terrible thoughts about my child and myself? or do I reality-check the situation?

Fact: Child hollering, mom hollering.  That’s all.  After that I’m just telling myself stories about what the hollering means: this tantrum  shouldn’t be happening,  I should be able to calm my child down, I should have more patience than Penelope. Tony Robbins likes to say we have a tendency to “should all over ourselves”.  I see his point.  Looking at it this way, I see the futility of all the “shoulding” and the power in the real options at hand:  I can choose to let my child holler without reacting, I can choose to stop my hollering, I can even choose to calmly remove her or myself to a different room while we ride this tantrum thing out. The only thing I don’t get to choose is whether my child is going to flip-out or not.  That’s her choice.

I also received a gift last night – it came wrapped  in this dark thought: “What if I lost my girls and their dad in a plane crash?” Initially, I panicked and immediately wanted to shut that thought down, but when I let myself see this morbid thought all the way through, I  realized with such clarity how precious these people really are to me.  I asked myself if I was appreciating them in the way I might if I could never see them again. I wasn’t.  The tantrums seemed very manageable from this perspective. Not only do I now understand the transient nature of the tantrums, the stuff I don’t like,  but I also understand the transient nature of each happy and fun moment I get to spend with my growing children.

These are some pieces that came flying at me recently and when I assembled them, as Virgina Woolf suggests I do (if you missed it, it’s the quote up top), I discovered that whether my children are behaving like the children in Lord of the Flies or behaving in a manner that I find more pleasant, I can meet them where they are with presence and love.  I can’t say that my new insight will prevent my daughter from throwing tantrums, but it may very well stop me from throwing one with her.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

