Home > Health and Well-being > Life: Drive It Like You Stole It

Life: Drive It Like You Stole It

blue-eyed black lemur

Sometimes I take life too seriously.  I can always tell when this is happenening because I start feeling stressed or anxious. This is exactly what happened to me recently when I was researching ways to market my coaching practice.  It all started out innocently enough, my plan was simply to attract clients who would benefit from my skills and talents as a coach, so I could do what I really enjoy doing: coaching.  I wanted to do this authentically and organically.  When I started researching all the various ways to accomplish this, I was soon overwhelmed with all the information on how best to put myself “out there”.  I got stressed because according to the many marketing experts I’ve contacted, read or researched, I had infinite challenges and issues; here’s a short list:  I don’t have a brand,  I don’t know how to develop a brand, my industry is overcrowded, I don’t know how to use social media, I don’t know anything about search engine optimization, I need to narrow my niche further, I should be using Facebook ads, I should NOT be using facebook ads, I should be breaking rules by following another set of rules (btw, I detest rules). . .

I started thinking I was never going to have a successful practice, I’ll never attract enough clients and I’ll never figure out how to properly use #FollowFriday on Twitter.  I had just started my business and I was convinced it was doomed.  I was stressed about it being doomed.  Then I smiled.  I realized I was taking all of this way too seriously.   When I drill down to the essence of what my business is all about and tell all but a scant few of the experts to, respectfully, take a hike for a minute, I see very clearly what my purpose and goal is and it’s the same as it was when I started: I want to coach people.  It’s what I do because I’m really quite phenomenal at it (no marketing expert ever said I lacked confidence. . . ) and it’s really fun for me.  When I was fretting over marketing, I wasn’t coaching.  I don’t want to be a professional marketer, not for all the clients or money in the world.  Nope, I want to go on a coaching tear—I want to help people get unstuck, move forward and fulfill their deepest desires and highest callings.  I am a coach first, and an entrepreneur by accident.  When I admit that to myself, the stress leaves me and I’m ready and excited to do what I am called to do.

The world is your playground.  Neither play nor work should be stressful, if it is, you may be taking it all way too seriously.   From what I gather, we don’t get to take any of our worldly acquisitions and achievements with us when we leave this earth (including the drama we create in our lives–good news, right?)–it’s all on loan to us.  It exists so we can play with it. Knowing you have to turn it all in at the end of your ride (I mean all of it–your body, too) how will you conduct your life from now on? With seriousness or playfulness?

I say drive it like you stole it.

Ferrari09

Categories: Health and Well-being
  1. August 6, 2009 at 5:12 am

    You are right on Emiko! Be the wonderful coach that you are, and the energy will follow! Drive it like you stole it!!! Ha, love it!

  2. Mary Welty-Dapkus
    August 24, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Dear Emiko,

    Great blog…love the name and the look…thanks for sharing! I will let you know when I am up and “writing.”

  3. September 12, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Rock on Em. Focus on what feels right and it will truly guide you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

