Home > Uncategorized > A Few (Gazillion) Of My Favorite Things . . .

A Few (Gazillion) Of My Favorite Things . . .

It seems that I have spent most of my life trying to figure out how to complete this sentence. I love _____. Now I realize that this is a complete sentence. I love. ~ Robert Higginson

Back in July I had the incredible experience of getting together with over 3oo amazing, awesome, fabulous people at the Martha Beck Coaches Convention.  I have to tell you, being around these people is so inspiring, so uplifting and SO addictive!  I want to be around these people all the time (and so far I haven’t gone one month since June without seeing at least a couple of my fabulous peeps).  The best I can describe what I feel for these individuals is what I imagine people who are in love must feel for their beloveds: I can’t stop thinking about them (and I don’t want to stop!), I wonder what they’re doing (right now, in fact!), I can’t wait to see them again, I talk about them like someone who has just discovered a rare and valuable gem would talk about their find and I feel 110% supported, loved and encouraged (okay, I feel like a total rock star) when I am in their presence.  Not just with a few of them or ten or fifty of them, ALL OF THEM.  What are the odds of this happening?  So when Martha, our courageous, real and beyond generous leader took the stage of our convention and enthusiastically announced to all 300+ of us you’re all my favorite! the room exploded in laughter and applause, because we all recognized that the feeling was mutual among each and every one of us.

61825-004-FA1BFC92

Recently, I was listening to Law of Attraction coach extraordinaire, Jeannette Maw, speak and she mentioned that she, too, has many favorites.  It hit me: why don’t I claim more favorites? Why do I feel compelled to have only one paltry crumb favorite of anything?  That felt very limiting and miserly to me and the moment I realized that, I also discovered that allowing myself to have as many favorites as I wanted was deliciously liberating and thrilling.  Now, I proclaim my favorites whenever I come across them (sometimes even before I come across them. . .), and let me tell you, I had no idea I have so many!  I can’t believe I had been hoarding favorites and turning away other potential favorites by declaring only a spartan few, not a good place to be when you’re all about flowing abundance, right?  And, guess what? When I embrace all my favorites–all my favorite people, all my favorite foods, all my favorite activities, all my favorite colors, smells, sights and feelings–I discover and enjoy even more favorites!  I’m swimming in a sea of favorites and I like it. A lot. Seriously, who came up with this small idea of having a limited number of favorites?  That’s just silly and does little to express how big and full of juicy potential we really are. There’s a whole wide world of fascinating, awe-inspiring and plain kick-ass people, activities, events, situations, things and places.  Now that I have tasted the vastness, freedom and abundance that allowing myself an unlimited supply of favorites provides—there’s no way I’d ever limit myself to liking only a few things again.  I pooh-pooh the very notion (that phrase cracks me up, I totally put that in there for my own gratuitous entertainment).

Have you ever felt pressured to choose only one favorite among two or more of your favorites?  What happens if you just choose all of them to be your favorites—let yourself go there, imagine how it would feel to allow yourself to have as many favorites as you like!  Isn’t that fantastic?! Now imagine allowing, encouraging and supporting others to have an unlimited supply of favorites, too.  Just imagine being in a room full of people with unlimited favorites.  As someone who regularly shares space with people who embrace multiple favorites, I can tell you, firsthand, that it blows away being in a room full of people with limited favorites.

The good news is you don’t need permission from anyone to start letting your favorite machine crank out some mighty fine product, but if you’re not ready to hear that just yet then I hereby grant you permission–no–I challenge you to come up with more favorites than you could ever possibly enjoy in two lifetimes.  Go on. I dare ya.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 8, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Not any more, hehe. I used to change my favorites ALL the time and now I’m even prouder to say I have so many faves rather than changing them, I’m including them! Yay! You’re all my fav MB coaches and twitter friends 😀 Mwah

  2. September 8, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Tia, you are definitely my favorite!! Love your energy, your gorgeous, radiant smile and general awesomeness. Thanks for your friendship, support and encouragement–I’m truly grateful 🙂 XOXO

  3. September 14, 2009 at 1:42 am

    Wheee!! Just saw this – count this as your gift for today, you made me feel so appreciated and adored! 🙂 Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

