Home > Health and Well-being, Uncategorized > You Are The Best There Is (Part 1)

You Are The Best There Is (Part 1)

No one  does Oprah better than me. ~Oprah

A few weeks ago I was listening to Jeannette Maw’s Pray Rain Journaling audios (I love everything this woman puts out) and she offered the following affirmation: I’m the best there is.  I adopted it immediately.  A few days ago I was warming-up while listening to the song One in a Million by The Romantics (remember them?) and I thought one in a million? I’m so way more unique than THAT.  And so are you, the person sitting next to you, your neighbor,  your co-worker, etc. That led me to wonder why it is commonly believed that unique individuals are so rare, when, in fact, we are all unique.  Then it occurred to me:  it isn’t someone’s uniqueness that makes someone stand out, it’s when an individual chooses to express their uniqueness that gets others to really see and appreciate them.  Not in an egotistical, graspy, desperate sort of way, but in an authentic, thrilling, deeply resonating way.

2420792135_92d7cb38dd

I also got to thinking about what society considers normal (and even this arbitrary standard shifts and changes over time) and the astoundingly high value many people have chosen to place on this concept.  How many times have you heard someone (maybe yourself) ask is this normal? I, for one, have asked my doctor if the white freckle (where apparently no pigment exists) on my arm is normal and I was relieved to hear that it is, indeed, normal (she used the word common, actually).  So, yes, in certain circumstances, it’s very comforting to hear that my condition is normal.  For the life of me, however, I cannot ever remember hearing myself, a childhood friend or even an adult say “when I grow up I want to be normal!”  NEVER have I heard this.  It may be because normal is predicated on the preferences and behaviors of others and not necessarily on those of the individual.  It may also be that I simply do not tend to attract people with this particular life design in mind! All the people I know yearn to shine, to do what THEY do best, to share THEIR innate, extraordinary gifts and to feel deliciously good.  This is inevitably what happens when individuals express their own uniqueness.   They forget about trying to squeeze themselves into the tiny, claustrophobic confining container of normal and they grow bigger and bigger, sprout wings, take off like a rocket and accomplish the most amazing things just for the hell of it and because it’s just plain fun.

Looking at just some of the most successful high profile individuals we are familiar with, like Oprah, Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Angelina Jolie, George Clooney, Tiger Woods, Dara Torres—pick  a person, I know you have one in mind (and they may not be high profile at all)—they all do one common thing well: themselves.  I suspect none of these people stopped and asked permission of anyone to express their unique talents, gifts and skills.  They just do what they’re meant to do.  When you express your uniqueness, we all benefit and people come out of the woodwork to support and encourage you. You are the best there is. Nobody does you better than you.  If you know deep down inside that you are meant to do something that you currently aren’t doing, I’d get on that. Now. We have a finite amount of time on this planet to express who we really are before, as Shakespeare so eloquently put it, our hour upon the stage expires.  Go on, then, and give us, you and the whole world a brilliant performance that only you can give.

Next week, I will share with you the most valuable tool you can use to help you be more you and draw out your most unique talents and gifts.  I’m too excited to wait to tell you!  So, I’ll give you a hint: it’s playing!  Okay, that was more than a hint, but I will talk more about it  and its super important role in making you shine and making your life fabulous next week.  I can’t wait!

  1. September 15, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    This is great, Emiko – and oh so true! The sooner we apply this principle to our own lives (unique is the new normal), the sooner we can appreciate and believe this about – and even pass this revelation on to our children! Just imagine the result…

  2. September 15, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Sheila,

    Thanks for your comment! I love “unique is the new normal”!! I already feel there is a swell of people living this new normal now and it’s so exciting and so powerful. I think our children are definitely seeing this, it is so inspiring to think how they will contribute their own fabulous gifts and talents and shine, not just for themselves but for the benefit of everyone around them (and even those they don’t know!). I get really amped up over this stuff 🙂

  3. September 16, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    “You are the best there is.” love that.

  1. September 20, 2009 at 4:17 pm

Leave a Reply

