Home > Uncategorized > Necessity is the Mother of Reinvention

Necessity is the Mother of Reinvention

I am very impressionable.  Always have been. When I was 9 years old someone told me that I had eyebrows like Brooke Shields and suddenly I needed a pair of Calvin Klein jeans to channel my inner super model (my parents came between me and my Calvins for 2 years before all my begging and pleading got to them).  When I was 12 I made friends with a punk rocker: she wore edgy, daring and usually ripped up outfits and she had a badass attitude to match.  I decided I wanted to rock both the attire and the attitude.  When I was 14 my mom worked as a stylist in a hair salon where there were tons of fashion magazines lying around and videos of runway shows available for me to watch over and over again.  I traded my combat boots and thrift store outfits for heels and designer clothes.  In my twenties I fell in love with yoga and I switched up my style yet again for a more bohemian look complete with sari petticoats and toe rings.  Not much has changed for me now as I sashay my way to 40. I’m still changing up my style, still playing with how I want to express myself. I find the frequent reinvention of myself not only fun, but also honest and necessary.

I don’t have the exact same interests and tastes that I did when I was a child or when I was a young adult.  I don’t want the same things, have the same expectations or dream the same dreams that I did back in the day.  The spirit of who I am, however, remains the same no matter how many different ways I find to express it: I thrive on change, adventure and finding out what happens when I take risks. That will never change and if I deny those fundamental parts of me, I know I am not living up to who I really am. I know this because I have tried living against my grain. It was, without a doubt, THE meanest and most painful thing I have ever done to myself.  I was also about as interesting as dry toast (and that’s an insult to dry toast). Thankfully, something new and cool caught my impressionable self’s attention and saved me from that crazy lie I was living.

Every reinvention of myself  has helped me practice skills I now use in my life. I learned how to think independently and way outside the box through my punk rock experience.  I learned how fashion and cultivating my own sense of style can totally alter how I see myself, how I carry myself and how others respond to me.  Yoga taught me to appreciate my body and the spirit it houses for the completely amazing things they are (and owning how amazing they are really makes an outfit pop!).

It’s not just about what I’m wearing–being open to new ideas and change translates into how I conduct my life.  When I grow out of certain people or situations, I know it’s in my best interest to move on to the next adventure.  Just like fashion, everything has a season, some pieces are very of–the-moment and have a short shelf life while other pieces are timeless and can last a lifetime. There is no good reason to wear an outfit, situation or relationship that no longer fits.  There are far too many fabulous people and experiences waiting to be tried on for that.

Staying relevant has less to do with going along with popular trends and more to do with following inspiration.  If you’re impressionable, use it to your advantage. Let yourself be inspired, you may be due for a reinvention.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 2, 2010 at 1:38 am

    excellent. LOVE it.

  2. June 4, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Wow, Emiko, how interesting and timely…I just spent the whole day yesterday cleaning out my closet and getting rid of stuff that just a year or two ago made me feel fabulous…and only in the past year or so have I come to the conclusion that not only is this OK but it’s wonderful!

    Thanks for putting into words what has been going on with me from childhood also, and for making it inspiring, beautiful, and TOTALLY common sense. My outer reflects my inner…changing, exploring, always looking for new excitement and expression…and so it should be! 🙂

    ~ Shauna

  3. June 4, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Thanks Killerati!

    Shauna, I change interests and clothes so much I have been accused of being inconsistent, lol. However, I’m totally consistent in my ability to adapt, change and experience new things. I’m also pretty spontaneous, so frequent reinvention is just a part of my personality make up. I used to confuse people who carried the same tastes, interests and clothes as people who were stable and pulled together. This is not necessarily the case. I’ve learned that some of the most “consistent” people I’ve encountered are also some of the most repressed people I’ve ever known (I went through a phase myself where I stopped growing and reinventing, so not fun or healthy). Then there are people who don’t seem to change much on the exterior, but they express their new ideas and reinvention through their work or art. It’s really cool how people find ways to show us who they are (or emphasize a new aspect of themselves) and so much fun to see how that translates into how they conduct their everyday lives.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

