Comeback

It’s been well over a month since my last blog entry.  Initially, I struggled with the decision to go on hiatus. There were all kinds of reasons why I thought I should continue writing posts consistently, some of them were pretty good reasons, some were seasoned with neediness crap. I worried that if I stopped writing, my readers would forget about me or they would think I’m flakey and just give up on me. These reasons may or may not be valid, I really don’t know, but what I do know is that I had far more compelling reasons for putting my blog on pause.  I took on a couple of highly meaningful projects that required me to find time and energy to devote to them. You may recall in my last post that I alluded to making some tough choices in order to accomplish the things I must have . . .those choices led me to make some more tough choices including putting my blog, Facebook updates and newsletter on hold.   I was incommunicado. It was weird at first, but not the social-media-junkie-going-through-withdrawal-experience I had anticipated.

If you’re wondering what I did with all that time and energy I created for myself, here’s what’s up:  I am currently writing a book and I have collaborated with my friend and expert pole dance instructor, Minda Ruggles of RockAngel Enterprises to create Vertical Enlightenment and a workshop experience like no other.   The working title of my book is Comeback: 4 Simple Steps That Will Take You From Kissing the Dirt to Touching the Sky, it is a guide created for impulsive and impatient people (like me!) who after suffering a setback, want to recover and move forward with the least amount fuss and muss.  The workshop Minda and I have created, Comeback Diva: To Fall is Human, To Get Up is Diva, is based on the strategies I detail in my book and are used to practice and master the super cool pole moves and a routine Minda teaches (absolutely no pole experience is required).  You can learn more about our workshop and sign up for a free preview call about it here.

I love a good comeback story and I fully appreciate and admire the effort that goes in to making one happen. As I continue doing research for my book  (it is extremely fascinating), I discover more and more of these comeback stories and they inspire me to keep going, to take risks, to mess up and keep trying again and again and again. I knew something good would come out of my recent setback, I just couldn’t possibly imagine what it would be at the time.  I am profoundly grateful that what I have learned (and continue to learn) not only helped me, but that it also has the potential to help many others who are ready to peel themselves off of the pavement, get up and keep going for it.

If you are going through a setback, know that you are far from alone, in fact, you are hanging out with some pretty fierce company.  Think of someone who has achieved something you consider extraordinary, maybe something you would like to achieve, I promise you that person had to overcome some (probably many) setbacks to achieve it . . .the difference between real success and failure rests on what you choose to do after a setback.  Choose wisely and the comeback story is yours to tell.

  1. August 20, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Love that you listened to your need to take a sabbatical from social media to focus on your project! Timothy Ferris of the 4-hour workweek calls it going on an “Information Diet.” I like doing that, too, when I’m working on a project, only I just call it “isolation.” 🙂 Cool post. Keepin it real. And I love the titles of your projects! xo

  2. August 21, 2010 at 10:46 am

    My summer garden and my two acres of land grabbed me and keep me from posting much on my blog this summer. But, oh, the insights of in an okra flower. And I got to eat marvelously healthy food. For me it is going with the ebb and flow. In winter I will be holed up on my island paradise with tons of writing time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

