Home > Achievement and Perfectionism, Pole and Aerial Work, Uncategorized > You’ve Got Skills, Use Them . . .

You’ve Got Skills, Use Them . . .

Don’t let what you can’t do interfere with what you can do. ~ John Wooden

I’ve been going to aerial classes for close to two months now.  There are a lot tricks and poses I cannot do yet. I don’t have the stamina specific to aerial training to tie moves together into a fluid combination. I don’t know how to transition from one move to the next. I have difficulty with basic wraps and I forget preparations for tricks I learned a week before.  I have limited flexibility in my back and shoulders. There is a lot I can’t do.

There is also a lot that I can do. I can listen to and observe my instructors as they teach me a new aerial skill. I can practice what I have seen and heard. I can make mistakes and learn from them. I can grab a piece of fabric and make a loop around my foot and then I can grab the other piece of fabric and loop it around my other foot.  I can point my toes. I can make my knees straighter.  I can climb. I can get frustrated and choose to keep going anyway. I can try a different approach. I can ask for help. I can watch the experienced performers I train with and learn from them.  I can stretch my shoulders and back everyday.  I can push myself a tiny bit past my comfort zone each time I practice.  I can focus.  I can give my best effort.

I already possess the most powerful abilities that will help me achieve any goal I pursue: I have the ability to learn, try, practice, fail and try again.  So do you.  Don’t let what you can’t do interfere with what you can do.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

