Home > Achievement and Perfectionism, Uncategorized > Not Getting What You Want? Audit Your Routine

Not Getting What You Want? Audit Your Routine

From the moment we wake up in the morning we are faced with choices: do I hit the snooze button? Do I get up? Do I sleep in? Do I lounge a bit and then get up?  Once we’re up and about (if that is our choice) there are even more choices to make: do I shower? Do I eat? Do I brush my teeth? Do I work out? Do I check my email? Do I go to work?  Most of us don’t run through the plethora of choices we have facing us each moment of the day.  That would be overwhelming and exhausting. Instead, we form routines and pre-define our choices. Most of us get up in the morning and know exactly what we’re going to do and in what order.  This is very efficient and helpful, but sometimes a routine needs to be audited, especially when the results we’re getting aren’t lining up with what we want.

A change in routine doesn’t have to be huge and monumental to get improved results. The other day I got a late start on what was already a short work day. As I was getting caught up with email messages and social media, I made a decision to quit my email, close my internet browser, ignore my phone and put all my attention on writing for one solid hour.  It took less than a minute to make that choice, and shake up my routine a bit, but I’m glad I did it. It progressed the writing of my book by 872 words–872 words that may have gone unwritten that day had I chose to follow my usual routine. I like knowing that at any moment, I can make a simple choice, and, just like that, I change the course of my day. I also like knowing that if I don’t like my choice, I can always reevaluate and choose again. Nothing is carved in stone.

If you’re not satisfied with how your day, week or year is going, make a choice right now that will alter, even slightly, the course of your day for the better.  That one choice could be the catalyst for big changes over time.

  1. Tia
    September 22, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Yay for the power of choice! I woke up at 8am thinking right, I’m going to listen to my guided meditation. In a moment of weakness I checked facebook … it’s now 10:22 and I’m still laughing and chatting away. Not complaining, it’s been a blast but often I go till I get cranky and then get unproductive. I can feel the edge now so I’m quickly closing browsers after this and meditating. Great catch, making a choice!

  2. September 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Tia! I know that weakness well, lol. It helps when I remind myself that I’m choosing whatever it is I’m doing (or not doing) and if I don’t like it, I can choose something else! Very liberating AND it makes punishing myself less tempting because I can just do something different rather than, say, wasting more time telling myself off for how unproductive I’ve been 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

